​From walking and climbing to photography and wild camping… none of our countryside adventures would be possible without our amazing path network.

We've asked people from across the country why they think paths are important and we're sharing their stories below. But we also want to hear where your paths take you!

Why do you love paths, what has our path network allowed you to do, what is your favourite path? We'd love to hear why you have become a path protector! Head over to our Facebook and Twitter pages to share your stories and your pictures, or email us at campaigns@ramblers.org.uk and we may feature you on this page!

Don't forget to tag all your posts with #YourPathAwaits to join the conversation.

Maxwell A. Ayamba, one of the panellists for our Britain's Best Walking Neighbourhood Awards 2019, signed up to our Charter...

For Maxwell, a good walking neighbourhood is diverse, friendly and inclusive. Maxwell is also the Projects coordinator for Sheffield Environmental Movement.

Sign up to our Charter

Are you a councillor, council staff, or mayor? Just drop the Ramblers campaigns team an email!

Are you a member of the public and you'd like your councillors to sign up? Get in touch with them via our easy e-action.

Councils in England & Wales that have fully adopted the Charter

  1. Totnes Town Council - 2 September 2019 - read our webstory
  2. Weymouth Town Council - 24 October 2019 - read our webstory

Mayors in England & Wales that have signed up to the Charter

  1. Dan Jarvis, Mayor for Sheffield City Region - read his tweet

Councillors in England & Wales to have signed up to the Charter (alphabetically by council name)

Breckland Council

  • Cllr Susan-J Dowling, Thetford Priory

Bristol City Council

  • Cllr Stephen Clarke, Southville
  • Cllr Martin Fodor, Redland

Cardiff Council

  • Cllr Emma Sandrey, Pentwyn
  • Cllr Joe Carter, Pentwyn 
  • Cllr Dan Naughton, Pentwyn
  • Cllr Rhys Taylor, Gabalfa

Colchester Borough Council

  • Cllr Mark Goacher. Castle

Conwy County Borough Council

  • Cllr Pat Hebron, Mostyn

Flintshire County Council

  • Cllr David Evans, Shotton East

Hastings Borough Council

  • Cllr James Edward Bacon, Old Hastings

Herefordshire Council

  • Cllr Jeremy Milln, Central 

Leeds City Council

  • Cllr Peter Carlill, Calverley and Farsley 

Leicester City Council

  • Cllr Nigel Porter, Aylestone

Lewisham Borough Council

  • Cllr Sophie McGeevor, Brockley
  • Cllr John Paschoud, Perry vale
  • Cllr Juliet Campbell, Blackheath
  • Cllr Tauseef Anwar, Crofton Park

Manchester City Council

  • Cllr Mandie Shilton Godwin, Chorlton Park
  • Cllr Dave Rawson, Chorlton Park
  • Cllr Eve Holt, Chorlton
  • Cllr Julie Reid, Gorton and Abbey Hey
  • Cllr John Leech, Didsbury West
  • Cllr Richard Kilpatrick, Didsbury West

Milton Keynes Council

  • Cllr Zoe Nolan, Loughton and Shenley 
  • Cllr Moriah Priestley, Bletchley West

Northampton Borough Council

  • Cllr Emma Roberts, Delapre and Briar Hill

Oldham Council

  • Cllr Chris Gloster, Shaw

Preston City Council

  • Cllr Alex Warren, Greyfriars

Richmondshire District Council

  • Cllr Clive World, Richmond West

Rochdale Borough Council

  • Cllr Faisal Rana, Spotland and Falinge

Royal Borough of Greenwich

  • Cllr David Stanley, Kidbrooke with Hornfair

Royal Leamington Spa Town Council

  • Cllr Louisa Radice, Willes

Rushcliffe Borough Council

  • Cllr Penny Gowland, Abbey ward
  • Cllr Jen Walker, Ruddington ward

Selby District Council

  • Cllr Keith Franks, Selby West

Sheffield City Council

  • Barbara Masters, Ecclesall

South Kesteven District Council

  • Cllr Ashley Baxter, Market and West Deeping

Southwark Borough Council

  • Cllr Margy Newens, Dulwich village

Wandsworth Borough Council

  • Cllr Fleur Anderson, Bedford 
  • Cllr Hector Denfield, Bedford

Waverly Borough Council

  • Cllr Kirsten Ellis, Haslemere South

Wiltshire Council

  • Cllr Johnny Kidney, Winsley and Westwood