Welcome from our Chairman

Message from the Chairman

At the AGM in 2016, I was elected chairman of Grantham Ramblers.  I follow in the footsteps of David Gregory, who has been chairman for the past seven years.  I would like to thank him for his unstinting work and enthusiasm for Grantham Ramblers during this time. He, and his wife, Janet, will be remaining on the committee.

Now a bit about myself:

My wife, Doreen, and I have been members of the Ramblers’ Association for over fifteen years and since our retirements from teaching and social work have been walking regularly with the Grantham Ramblers, usually on Thursdays.

During this time we have been on many walks in the locality and have explored further afield on the away weekends and during our holidays in our caravan.  I lead several walks during the year and since being on the committee, I have organised the annual walking weekend.

In the past my wife and I have been on Ramblers’ Worldwide holidays to Menorca, Austria (cross-country skiing) and Poland, again, skiing.

I believe that walking is a ‘free’ physical activity and benefits both mind and body – so important in this technological age.  The Grantham Ramblers have a varied programme with walks on both Thursdays (4-6 miles) and Sundays (8-9 miles).  Also we have several social events during the year.

However, many of our regular walkers are, like myself, getting ‘somewhat mature in years’ and we would welcome new, younger members to walk or to serve on the committee.  I know the pace of working life means limited free time but the benefits of walking are considerable.

I look forward to seeing you on our walks in the future.

Andy Chapman (andychapman37@yahoo.co.uk


Other Committee members elected:

Secretary                                       Judy Hulland 

Membership Secretary                  Peter Lilburn 

Treasurer                                       Eileen Du Faye                              

Minuting Secretary                        Margaret Booles 

Footpath Officer                            "vacant" 

Walk programme coordinator       Janet Gregory

Other Committee Members: David Gregory, Kathy Redpath, Tony Parker and Gwen Rawlinson.

Webmaster:                                  Jacob Florijn

We always love to hear from you. Email us or phone 01664 464065