Walks 2016

Wednesday 31 December – Dupplin and Cairnie Braes, 7 miles

Walkers on Dupplin estate


Saturday 10 December - Acharn, 7 miles

Walkers above Loch Tay

Acharn Falls

Photos by Trevor Abell & Lynn Salvin


Saturday 3 December - Newtyle circular, 7.5 miles

Walkers having coffee break

View across Strathmore to Cairngorms


Wednesday 30 November - Binn Hill & Kinnoull Hill, 7 milesView from Kinnoull Hill tower


Wednesday 23 November - Lundie Crags, 6.5 miles

Panorama of Cairngorm mountains

Walkers above Long Loch

Photo by Lynn Salvin

Walkers on Lundie Crags

Photo by John Andrews


Saturday 19 November - Perth to Pitcairngreen, 6 miles

Walkers in woodland

Walkers taking break

Photos by Lynn Salvin


Saturday 12 November - Backwater Reservoir, 9 miles

Walkers at Backwater Reservoir

Photo by Trevor Abell


Wednesday 2nd November - Ruthven & Alyth, 9 miles

 

Walkers near Hill of Loyal


Saturday 29th October - Monzie and the Knock, 8 miles

Walkers above Crieff

Photo by Trevor Abell


Wednesday 26 October - Piperdam, 7.5 miles

Walkers on bklacklaw Hill, view to Piperdam

Walkers on Blacklaw Hill


Saturday 22 October - Fairy Hill (Beinn an t-Sidhein), Strathyre, 6 miles

Walkers above Strathyre Photo by Lynn Salvin


Wednesday 19 October - Queen Mary's Walk, Crieff, 7 miles

Walkers in woodland Photo by Sue Henderson


Saturday 8 October - Ceres & Hill of Tarvit, 6.5 miles

The walk was dedicated to BBC Countryfile's Ramble for Children In Need initiative and walkers were asked to wear some yellow clothing. £120 was raised.Walkers at Hill of Tarvit

Photo Anne Trant


Wednesday 5 October - Sarah's Bothy, 10.5 miles

Walkers at Sarah's Bothy


Saturday 1 October - East Lomond & Maspie Den, 5.5 miles

walkers by disused lime kilns


Wednesday 28 September - Stirling & the Wallace Monument, 6.5 miles

Wallace Monument actor with walker

Photo by Lynn Salvin

Walkers below Stirling Castle with chainsaw sculptures


Saturday 24 September - Weem Wood & Glassie, 5.5 miles

Walkers above Aberfeldy with horse

Photo by Lynn Salvin


Wednesday 14 September - Loch Skiach, 8 miles

Walkers having lunch by Loch Skiach

Photo by Lynn Salvin


Saturday 10 September - Tulliemet trail, 9 miles

Walkers taking a break above Tulliemet.

Walkers at Loch Oisinneach Mor

Photo by Lynn Salvin

Walkers with view to Perth hills

Photo by Lynn Salvin


Coach trip to Balloch, 7 September

On the John Muir Way between Helensburgh and Balloch.

Walkers on the John Muir Way

Walkers on the John Muir Way


Wednesday 31 August - Little Glenshee, 9 miles

Walkers in Little Glenshee


Saturday 27 August - Glen Tilt, 9.5 miles

Walkers in Glen Tilt

Walkers in Glen Tilt


Saturday 20 August - Aberfeldy to Grandtully, 9 miles

Lunchtime by the River Tay


Saturday 13 August - Cortachy & Airlie Monument, 8 miles

Airlie Monument and walkers with view to Glen Clova

Walkers with view up Glen Prosen


Wednesday 10 August - Backwater Reservoir & Corwharn, 8.5 miles

Walkers admiring a caterpillar


Saturday 6 August - Benarty Hill, 7 miles

At the top of Benarty Hill

Admiring the view from Benarty Hill

Photos by Sue Henderson & Caroline Cronie


Wednesday 3 August - Balmullo, 8 miles

Walkers on Lucklaw Hill


Saturday 30 July - Strathblane, 8 miles

Walkers heading towards Dumgoyne

Walkers with views of Arrochar Alps


Coach trip to Banchory, 9 July

Crathes Castle and River Dee

Group of walkers

Walkers on Crathes linear walk

Photos by Dick Salvin

Strachan to Banchory via Scolty Hill. 

Lunch stop by the River Dee

Before we started for home we had a group photo taken in order to send best wishes to our Chairman, Allen Bardwell, who was unwell.

Group photo in Banchory


Saturday 2 July - Anstruther

Walkerson Fife Coastal Path with Isle of May

Photo by Lynn Salvin


Saturday 26 June - Little Glenshee to Strathbraan, 11 miles

Walkers in Little Glenshee

Photo by Lynn Salvin


Wednesday 22 June - Muirhead & Dronley, 9 milesGroup photo Perth Ramblers

Photo by Graham Chalmers


Saturday 11 June - Gilmerton and Crieff, 7 miles

Ramblers at Katie McNievens viewpoint

Photo by Lynn Salvin


Wednesday 8 June - Arbroath to Auchmithie, 7 miles

Walkers and wild flowers on the Seaton cliffs

Photo by Lynn Salvin


Saturday 4 June - Kingsbarns to Anstruther, 10.5 miles

Walkers on Fife Coastal PathPhoto by Lynn Salvin 


Wednesday 1 June - Enochdhu & Glen Fearnach, 9.5 miles

Upper Lunch Hut in Enochdhu

Lunch stop for ramblers


Saturday 28 May - Scone, Balbeggie & St Martins, 8.5 miles

Group of walkers in woodland

Photo by Lynn Salvin


Saturday 21 May - Glen Girnaig, 5.5 miles

Walkers by waterfall in Glen Girnaig Photo by Lynn Salvin


Away weekend to Grantown on Spey, 13-16 May

Carn Daimh & Glen LivetWalkers with Ben RinnesWalkers at top of Carn Daimh

Photo by Lynn Salvin

Distant view of Cairngorm mountains

Anagach Woods & River Spey

Walkers beside River Spey

Walkers beside River Spey


Saturday 7 May - Forgandenny to Bridge of Earn, 11 miles

Walkers at Castlelaw hillfort Photo by Lynn Salvin


Wednesday 4 May - Loch Ordie from Dowally, 8.5 miles

Walkers at Loch Ordie


Saturday 30 April - Fiddler's Path, Dunkeld, 6 miles

Group of RamblersWalkers by Neil Gow's oak, Dunkeld

                                                                             Photos by Lynn Salvin


Wednesday 27 April - Clunie Walk, 7 miles

Walkers above Blair Atholl


Saturday 23 April - Glen Ogle, 8 miles

Walkers crossing old railway viaduct


Wednesday 20 April - Tentsmuir, 10.5 miles

Walkers on Tentsmuir beach

Ramblers paddling in sea


Saturday 16 April - The slopes above Comrie, 10 miles

Walkers in Glen Lednock

Photos by Lynn Salvin


Saturday 9 April - Collesie & Lindores Loch, 8 miles

Walkers with view to Lomond Hills Walkers in fife countryside

Photos by Lynn Salvin


Wednesday 6 April - Auchtermuchty to Abernethy, 8.5 miles

Walkers with view to Tay reedbedsPhoto by Lynn Salvin


Saturday 2 April - Glenrothes to Falkland, 8 miles

Walkers by summit cairn on East Lomond


Wednesday 30 March - Glen Fender & Glen Tilt, 6 miles

Taking lunch above Glen TiltPhoto by Lynn Salvin

Walkers in Glen Fender


Saturday 26 March - Murthly Estate, 7 miles

This was Stewart Inglis' last walk as leader for Perth Ramblers after twenty years of taking groups out and about. At lunchtime Allen Bardwell, current Chairman of Perth Ramblers, recognised this by thanking Stewart for his major contribution to walk leading and his past service on the committee for Perth Ramblers group.

Walkers on Murthly EstateStewart sixth from left.

Walkers on Murthly Estate by River Tay

Photos and report by Lynn Salvin


Saturday 19 March - Ormiston Hill & Newburgh

Coffee break at the top of Ormiston Hill Descending towards the River Tay                                                                                     Photos by June Schulte


Wednesday 16 March - Kennoway, 7.5 miles

Walkers descending towards Donald Rose reservoir


Saturday 5 March - Auchtermuchty and Strathmiglo, 9 miles

Walkers having coffee stop

Ramblers on walk from Auchtermuchty to Strathmiglo

Photos by Lynn Salvin


Wednesday 2 March - Perth to Pitcairngreen, 6 miles

Walkers in snow on banks of the Tay


Saturday 27 February - Spittalfield to Dunkeld, 10 miles

Walkers by standing stones

Views of Butterstone Loch

Photos by Lynn Salvin


Wednesday 24 February - River Tay at Dunkeld, 5.5 miles, and lunch at Atholl Arms

Beside the River Tay near Dunkeld

Back in Dunkeld, the walkers were joined by other members for an enjoyable lunch at the Atholl Arms Hotel.  A total of 41 members, partners and friends had lunch.Lunch at the Atholl Arms

Eating at the Atholl Arms


Wednesday 10 February - Forgandenny circuit, 7.5 miles

Snow capped peaks and walkers on Castle Law

Photo by Lynn Salvin


Saturday 23 January - Dunblane & Sheriffmuir, 8.5 miles

Walkers descending to Darn Path by Cock's Burn


Wednesday 20 January - Hopetoun Monument, 7 miles

Walkers heading for Hopetoun Monument

Misty view of the Lomond Hills


Saturday 16 January - Auchlinsky & Hillfoot Hills circular, 8 miles

 

Walkers on snowy track

Lunchtime in the snow

Photos by Trevor Abell & Theresa Hughes


Wednesday 13 January - Loch Ore & Benarty Hill, 7.5 miles

Walkers overlooking Loch Leven


Sunday 10 January - Braid Burn and Hills, Edinburgh, 5.5 miles

Walkers on Braid Hill


Photos by Pete Trant unless otherwise acknowledged